The Codex Alimentarius Commission (Codex) is an international forum in which about 186 countries and one organization (the European Union) participate. This forum develops international standards for food products, with the aim to promote public health and the fairness of international trade in food products. The Codex Committee on Fats and Oils (CCFO) is one of the Committees of the Codex Alimentarius Commission.

The Codex is an UN organization, under the banner of both the FAO (International Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations) and the WHO (World Health Organization). In the Netherlands, the responsibility for participation in this international forum falls partly under the Ministry of Agriculture, Nature and Food Quality (LNV) and partly under the Ministry of Health, Welfare and Sport (VWS).

The Codex Standard for Named Vegetable Oils is one of the standards developed by the Codex Committee of Fats and Oils (CCFO) of the Codex Alimentarius Commission. It contains a number of quality parameters for vegetable oils and some limits for contaminants as well as rules concerning additives, labelling and methods of analysis and sampling at global level

The aim of the CCFO committee is to elaborate worldwide standards for fats and oils of animal, vegetable and marine origin including margarine and olive oil.

The following other codes are developed by the CCFO:

Codex Standard for Named Animal Fats

Codex Standard for Olive Oils and Olive Pomace Oils

Codex Standard for Edible Fats and Oils not covered by Individual Standards

Codex Standard for Fat Spreads and Blended Spreads

Codex Recommended International Code of Practice for the Storage and Transport of Edible Fats and Oils in Bulk

More information can be found on the Codex website.  


Last modified: October 19, 2020 14:28